Home / In the News / Around Canada / Liberals shut out as Conservatives sweep nearly every Alberta riding

Liberals shut out as Conservatives sweep nearly every Alberta riding

The Liberals were shut out of Alberta on Monday night after incumbents Amarjeet Sohi, Randy Boissonnault and Kent Hehr lost their seats as the Conservatives almost swept the province.

Conservative candidates were victorious in 33 of the 34 Alberta ridings.

Candidate Heather McPherson was able to keep Edmonton-Strathcona in NDP hands. The central-Edmonton riding had been represented by NDP MP Linda Duncan for 11 years.

CBC News has projected a Liberal minority government.

Heather McPherson kept Edmonton Strathcona in NDP hands, making it the only riding in Alberta that didn’t elect a Conservative.(Natasha Riebe/CBC )

Sohi, natural resources minister in Justin Trudeau’s cabinet, was defeated in Edmonton Mill Woods by Conservative Tim Uppal.

Uppal was the MP for Edmonton-Sherwood Park from 2008 to 2015. He ran in Edmonton Mill Woods in 2015 but lost to Sohi by 92 votes.

“I am so happy and proud to have the support that I got here, and I will represent them in every single way possible that I can,” Uppal said at his campaign party. “We want to make sure that Alberta’s economy comes back on track, and we’ll hold Justin Trudeau to account.”

In his concession speech, Sohi said he was proud of the work he did to ensure the federal government did additional consultation with Indigenous communities on the Trans Mountain pipeline expansion.

He congratulated Uppal for his victory and consoled his supporters.

“Yes, we lost the election today, because democracy is something wonderful and we need to accept the results of people because serving in office and being a politician is not a right,” Sohi said. “It’s a privilege … that all of us have to continue to work hard to earn.”

In Edmonton Centre, Boissonnault lost his bid for a second term to Conservative James Cumming, his closest challenger in the 2015 election.

Cumming said his priority is getting Alberta’s economy back on track.

“We need to get policies that are going to help not only Alberta but the rest of Western Canada,” he told reporters at his campaign headquarters.

“We knocked on over 60,000 doors and I’m telling you people told me that they feel that they’re they’re not getting ahead. We’re going to hold [the government’s] feet to the fire to make sure that that happens.”

Liberal Amarjeet Sohi hugs supporters after losing his Edmonton Mill Woods seat to Tim Uppal of the Conservatives.(Kory Siegers/CBC )

Hehr was defeated by Conservative Greg McLean in Calgary Centre.

The Conservative candidate is ahead in Calgary Skyview, which elected Liberal Darshan Kang in 2015. Kang left the Liberal caucus following sexual harassment allegations. He sat as an independent for the rest of this term and did not run for re-election.

Conservative Kerry Diotte won a second term in Edmonton Griesbach, defeating high-profile NDP candidate Mark Cherrington. Conservative Matt Jeneroux was re-elected in Edmonton Riverbend. Michael Cooper was also re-elected for the Conservatives in St. Albert-Edmonton.

Liberal candidate Randy Boissonnault lost his Edmonton Centre seat to Conservative James Cumming. (Terry Reith/CBC )

Candidates elected from Edmonton and northern Alberta:

  • Battle River-Crowfoot: Damien Kurek, Conservative
  • Edmonton Centre: James Cumming, Conservative
  • Edmonton Griesbach: Kerry Diotte, Conservative
  • Edmonton Manning: Ziad Aboultaif, Conservative
  • Edmonton Mill Woods: Tim Uppal, Conservative
  • Edmonton Riverbend: Matt Jeneroux, Conservative
  • Edmonton Strathcona: Heather McPherson, NDP
  • Edmonton West: Kelly McCauley, Conservative
  • Edmonton Wetaskiwin: Mike Lake, Conservative
  • Fort McMurray Cold Lake: David Yurdiga, Conservative
  • Grande Prairie-Mackenzie: Chris Warkentin, Conservative
  • Lakeland: Shannon Stubbs, Conservative
  • Red Deer-Lacombe: Blaine Calkins, Conservative
  • Red Deer-Mountain View: Earl Dreeshen, Conservative
  • Sherwood Park-Fort Saskatchewan: Garnett Genius, Conservative
  • St. Albert Edmonton: Michael Cooper, Conservative
  • Sturgeon River Parkland: Dane Lloyd, Conservative
  • Peace River-Westlock: Arnold Viersen, Conservative
  • Yellowhead: Gerald Soroka, Conservative

Credits belong to : www.cbc.ca

Check Also

Pelosi says agreement on revamped NAFTA ‘imminent’

The highest-ranking Democrat in the U.S. Congress says a deal aimed at ratifying the new …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com