List of sectors allowed to reopen in MECQ zones being finalized

Screengrab from RTVM

MANILA – The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) is finalizing the list of more businesses that can resume operations in areas still under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), Malacañang said on Thursday.

In a virtual presser, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said members of the IATF-EID will hold a meeting on Thursday afternoon to come up with the final roster of establishments that can reopen in MECQ zones.

“Mamaya pong hapon magkakaroon po ng pagpupulong ang IATF para isapinal nga po iyong listahan ng mga karagdagang mga negosyo at mga establisyimento na pupuwedeng buksan po bagama’t MECQ (This afternoon, IATF will meet to finalize the list of more businesses and establishments that can operate in areas under MECQ),” Roque, also acting as IATF-EID spokesperson, said.

Reopening of more businesses in areas placed under MECQ would help Filipinos return to their livelihood despite the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) pandemic, Roque said.

“Ito po ay sang-ayon doon sa ating goal ‘no na i-promote po ang total health ng mga mamamayan, mabawasan ang mga kaso ng Covid at itaguyod po ang hanapbuhay ng mga mamamayan nang hindi naman sila magutom (This is in line with our goal to promote the public’s total health, reduce Covid-19 cases, and promote livelihood to ease hunger),” he said.

MECQ will be retained in the National Capital Region (NCR) Plus, composed of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal until May 14 following the recommendation of medical professionals.

Quirino and Abra provinces, as well as the City of Santiago in Isabela, will also remain under MECQ for the whole month of May.

The new quarantine classification is still subject to the local governments’ appeals.

In a public address delivered Wednesday night, President Rodrigo Duterte apologized to the public for extending MECQ in NCR Plus.

Duterte said he approved the proposed two-week MECQ extension in NCR Plus to contain Covid-19 and protect the public against the coronavirus.

The more relaxed general community quarantine (GCQ) will be imposed in Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Quezon, Tacloban City, Iligan City, Davao City, and Lanao del Sur from May 1 to 31.

The rest of the country will stay under the least restrictive modified GCQ (MGCQ). (PNA)

Credit belongs to :

Check Also

Ex-PAL exec to head DOTr

Jaime Bautista, an airline old hand, leads BBM’s latest key nominees President-elect Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. …