Philippine Sports torch bearers lauded

Philippine Sports torch bearers lauded

MANILA, Philippines — Philippine Sports Commission chairman William Ramirez lauded the honorees in the San Miguel Corporation-Philippine Sportswriters Awards Night for “keeping their stars shining even brighter in these dark times.”

“The past year was not kind for us in the field of sports. We all know the story. We all know the reasons,” said Ramirez, guest speaker in the online rites for the achievers led by Athlete of the Year Yuka Saso.

“What heartens me, though, is I also know the very strength that has kept all of us going – it is the undying love for sports, the very spirit that I know brought all of us here to this moment,” he added.

Golf star Saso received her second AOY after sharing the prestigious plum with fellow golfers Bianca Pagdanganan and Kois Kaye Go, Rio silver medalist Hidilyn Diaz and skateboarder Margielyn Didal in 2018.

Philippine Olympic Committee president and Cavite Rep. Abraham Tolentino was bestowed the President’s Award, PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial was feted as Executive of the Year, and the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines was honored as National Sports Association of the Year.

Tolentino shared his accolade with the Filipino athletes and coaches.

“Ang parangal na ito ay inaalay ko po sa ating athletes at coaches bilang kanilang karagdagang inspirasyon (This award serves as added inspiration for the athletes and coaches),” he said.

He gave props for the PSA for being the “keepers of sports knowledge and history” and giving Team Philippines the extra push to train.

Credit belongs to :

Check Also

Slaughter stands tall as Northport outlasts Rain or Shine in OT

Sports Slaughter stands tall as Northport outlasts Rain or Shine in OT MANILA, Philippines — …

error: Content is protected !!