Rolling out the red carpet for 5th EDDYS at the MET

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) is rolling out the red carpet for the 5th edition of the annual EDDYS or Entertainment Editors' Choice happening this Sunday, November 27, at the historic Metropolitan Theater (MET) in Manila.

Regine Tolentino, Zephanie, Jona and Ice Seguerra

Regine Tolentino, Zephanie, Jona and Ice Seguerra

Hosted by the “King of Talk” Boy Abunda and directed by OPM icon and singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra, the 5th EDDYS will honor Filipino movies released on various platforms in 2021. It will also train the spotlight on film luminaries, actors, craftsmen, writers, directors, workers, and producers in the Philippine movie industry.

The awards show will be powered by the performance of artists such as Seguerra, Jonalyn Viray, Zephanie, and Regine Tolentino with Dance Royalties.

Besides honoring the best of the best in the acting and technical categories among the movies of 2021, the evening will see The Eddys prestigious roster of special awards.

Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to movie stars who have made an indelible mark in the industry through their significant bodies of work, EDDYS will pay tribute to the illustrious career of EDDYS Icon awardees namely Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, Joey de Leon, Phillip Salvador, Roi Vinzon, Helen Gamboa, Divina Valencia, Elizabeth Oropesa, Sharon Cuneta, and Alma Moreno.

Meanwhile, Gretchen Barretto, Kris Aquino, Alfred Vargas, GMA Kapuso Foundation, and ABS-CBN Sagip Kapamilya are the recipients of this year's Isah V. Red Award. The award is presented in honor and memory of SPEEd's founding president, Isah V. Red. It is given to personalities and organizations to honor their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating the condition of people adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year's special awardees have been named as the following: entertainment reporter Mario Dumaual for the Joe Quirino Award; former entertainment editor Eric Ramos for the Manny Pichel Award; Rein Entertainment for the Rising Producers' Circle; and Viva Films as Producer of the Year.

The EDDYS is considered a game changer in the history of movie awards in the Philippines. Since its inception in 2017, it has easily positioned itself as a significant element of the film industry. Relatively new in recognizing deserving craftsmen, actors, writers, and directors, it instantly became one of the most distinguished film awards due to its large diversity among the chosen titles.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and top tabloids circulated daily nationwide.

The non-profit organization established in 2015 is led by People's Journal's Eugene Asis, as president.

The 5th EDDYS is presented by SPEED and Fire and Ice Media and Productions in partnership with Globe and in collaboration with Beautederm, National Commission for Culture and the Arts, and Metropolitan Theater. Nathan Studios, Rep. Arjo Atayde, Councilor Alfred Vargas, and Tanduay are sponsors. The event is supported by Live Stream Manila, Carl Balita Foundation, Rep. Geraldine Roman, and JFV Rice Mill. The auditing firm of Juancho Robles, Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, serves as vote auditor.

The 5th EDDYS kicks off with a red carpet program at 5 p.m. and the main show commences at 7 p.m.

Credit belongs to :

Check Also

New ‘Vikings’ knocked me off my seat!

No one messes with Freydis Why isn't “Vikings: Valhalla” getting enough marketing, publicity and PR? …