Random Image Display on Page Reload

The 3 stars in the Philippine flag actually represent Luzon, Panay, and Mindanao, here’s why

(Source: Unsplash | iSawRed)

The Philippine flag, a national treasure, carries deep symbolism in the hearts of the Filipino people. However, a common misconception surrounds the three stars, often thought to represent Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

Historical documents reveal a different story: the stars symbolize Luzon, Panay, and Mindanao. The 1898 Proclamation of Independence associated these stars with the islands where the revolution began, not the main island grouping.

During the Philippine Revolution, Panay served as the center of revolutionary activity in the Visayas region.

The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) itself clarifies the issue. In a public access document entitled “Symbolisms/Meanings in the Philippine Flag,” Section 4 states, “…the three stars, signifying the three principal Islands of this Archipelago – Luzon, Mindanao, and Panay where this revolutionary movement started.”

This interesting detail adds another layer to the rich symbolism of the Philippine flag, reminding us that national identity goes beyond just geography, reflecting the shared struggle and unity of the Filipino people.

Credit belongs to : www.mb.com.ph

Check Also

Discover the Lego Star Wars exhibit in Quezon City

As Lego and Star Wars celebrate their 25-year partnership, PinoyLUG, an internationally recognized Lego user …